Archive for the HDTV's

Freebox support DTS Neural

Following the announcement of the partnership in April 2012 with DTS, Free announces support for DTS Neural Surround, a process that can take advantage of a 5.1 which is transported in a matrixed stereo LtRt flows and must be specifically addressed upstream and distribution "for an equivalent rate, channels and VOD portals can now offer HD 5.1 sound." Note that the Freebox is not the first to include this technology since the Bbox Bouygues Telecom already offers this feeling since September 2013 . What content are concerned? A priori, on Freebox, DTS Neural will be involved exclusively for VOD.

Freenews

Recommendation R128

After a long work in the Ploud EBU group that brings together the various players in the Broadcast Europe, Recommendation R128 is finalized, online here on the EBU website. Read also the excellent educational document "On the way to nirvana loudness" of Florian Camerer here .

To summarize here the main lines

To characterize the audio signal, the following parameters are used:

- Measurement of program loudness (loudness program)

- The excursion of loudness (loudness range, LRA)

- Peak level of the signal (maximum true peak level)

There are three types of measures:

- Instantaneous measurement (momentary loudness): sliding window of 400 ms

- The extent short term: sliding window of 3 s

- The infinite measure (integrated loudness) over the duration of the program

The value of the measurement of program loudness is normalized to -23 LUFS + - 1 LU

LUFS The scale is equivalent to LKFS scale (K weighting curve or R2LB) with the following correspondence

0 LU = -23 LUFS

Two scales are used for the metering:

- EBU 9 scale, the default scale ranging from -18 to +9 LU LU (-41 LUFS - 14 LUFS)

- EBU 18 scale, ranging from -36 to + 18 LU LU (LUFS -59, -5 LUFS)

The audio signal to be measured in its entirety, without considering specific elements such as dialogues

The measurement must incorporate the use of the gate, the relative threshold is 10 LU below the value of the loudness, obtained by measuring instant (400 ms). Also note the presence of a gate to the silences, the threshold is set at -70 LUFS.

Loudness range (LRA), translated the tour loudness during the program, the measurement algorithm fontionne retained on the statistical distribution of values ​​between 5% and 95%, thus excluding outliers. The LRA has no value imposed in the R128 standard, it is just not recommended to exceed 20 LU to-broadcast programs with large dynamic range (the film, classical music).

Towards a new loudness normalization EBU / UER

P:LOUD

The group EBU / UER Loudness P / LOUD orchestrated by Florian Camerer, working for some time on new standards for measuring loudness. IBC's lounge was an opportunity for further discussion on these standards. In short, this is what we can learn from these initial recommendations:

standardization of MAX peaks at -1 dBFS true peak

3 time constants for the measurement of loudness:

long term (infinite), use of a measure with gate to not take into account the low level crossings

threshold gate = 7 LU below the measured loudness or absolute (specify)

short term 10 or 8s

momentary between 100 and 500 ms

target value of loudness = - LKFS 23 + - 1 LU

taken into account for the measurement of the LFE

More: P / LOUD

Standard CSA CST-RT-019 HDTV

This new standard, being signed, complements the recommendation CST - RT 017 to define methodologies for assessing the sound dynamics.

- Change of scale for measuring loudness: LKFS curve weighted Leq (R2LB)

weighting ITU-R BS.1770-1

- Average level dialogue s LKFS -25 + - 2 dB

image-1

- Measurement methodology dynamiqu e

we allow the following loudness of excursions:

for dialogue s + - 7 dB measured in short term around the Dialog level

for all the sound elements of the program: + - 12 dB measured in short term around the Dialog level

management of peaks mixing 5.1 -3 dB FS (term generalized to all mixing versions, 5.1, LtRt, LoRo, Dual Mono)

image-2

information and diagrams from the technical recommendation CST-RT-019-TV-2009-V1

More: CST

SoundCode Dolby E Neyrinck

scb_encoder_ptplugin

cf audio Neyrinck

Neyrinck Audio has to offer its SoundCode application for the Dolby E encoding This tool, developed for pro tools and as a standalone application, is a kind of update for Broadcast SoundCode released last year. It can encode and decode a Dolby E file so that it can export a MBWF file (files carrying 8-channel audio, 5.1 format + 2) interleaved pcm integrating metadata for Dolby DP600 Dolby encoding used for E, Dolby Digital, Dolby Surround as well as analysis and loudness correction. Note the ability to import and export in pro tools of MBWF interleaved files for 5.1 whose size is greater than 4GB (RIFF64).

To test, learn more audio Neyrinck

scb_monitor_rtas

cf Neyrinck Audio

Dolby E encoder Surcode Minnetonka

encoder-dolby-e

Minnetonka has just released the long awaited famous Dolby E encoder. Until then, we can decode a Dolby E format in Pro Tools or VST or as a standalone application ... Today we can be encoded. Usage is very simple, just provide the metadata to the application that will make a Dolby E .wav file, the metadata for the time being obtained through the DP570 (Dolby until a plug-in version so ...). We tested in AudioSuite encoding in pro tools and decoding without any problems. Finally, we lack the simulation of the DRC to inform these metadata because we Dolby Media Meter and LM5D for measuring the loudness and Surcode Pro Logic 2 Minnetonka that simulates LtRt format. Surcode rotates AudioSuite, RTAS for Pro Tools, VST and as a standalone application with AudioTools AWE.

The various programs are supported including Dolby E 5.1 ​​+ 2, a Metadata import option to import metadata from an XML file or a .wav file containing the DBMD chunk.

synoptique-surcode

cf Minnetonka Audio

It remains to synchronize the Dolby E .wav file with the HD video streams in accordance with the standards Dolby (good positioning of Dolby E data on the sample 37 and proper positioning of the Dolby E .wav file in the reproductive system to the SDI output) a point that remains tricky.

More: Minnetonka Audio LtRt

Update on 5.1 encoding tools and measuring loudness in pro tools

Pro tools remains one of the most suitable for producing multi-channel software with many possibilities treatment 5.1 as plug-ins developed by many manufacturers (TC electronic, Dolby Laboratories, Minnetonka Audio, Neyrinck, Soundfield, Waves ...)

Among the tools that fit in a fun way in our mixer 5.1, the TC electronic LM5D is the must to be insert in our master 5.1. He gives us the history of the loudness (LeqRLB), its instantaneous value and the average value ("center of gravity") over the duration of the program (no sliding window of 10 seconds measurement method "short term" used by The DP570). We also have access to a kind of deviation, "consistency", which gives us information on the change in loudness over the duration of the program: we have a constant loudness or highly variable? Ppm level measurement is accurate and complete what is lacking in pro tools, accurate measurement of levels. The LM5D differs from LM5 by this statistical information. For measurement of the center channel carrying the dialogues, just cut other buses from our master 5.1. The LM5D was recently presented at IBC and has recently become available for download from the manufacturer's website.

Among the new newly developed plug-ins, we have the Dolby E audio Minnetonka overcodes of RTAS that allows us to decode a Dolby E stream; the tool is also available as a standalone application Minnetonka AudioTools AWE. We were able to test it on different sizes (5.1, LtRt) (2 + 2) (5.1). This tool gives us the metadata informed about the various programs. Just insert the plug-in in a track to 7.1 and route the track to a 7.1 BUS that will monitor the 5.1 and LtRt via the input respectively to 5.1 and stereo formats.

The limits of the plugin are unable to export at present metadata to the DP570 and the inability to decode Dolby E stream in the timeline, we are obliged to indicate in the browser Dolby E file interlaced .wav (sync is at the beginning of the session or if the TC TC is integrated in the Dolby E stream). A settings page brings up the port which would carry these metadata externally on the DP570 but for now is not operational. We can reverse the order of bus, in the settings page to work with the various standards smpte, movie ...

The LtRt from Dolby E can itself be decoded by another tool developed by Minnetonka Audio, Dolby Pro Logic Surcode 2. This plug-in gives us access to various parameters (music or movie mode, panorama ...) Pro Logic decoder 2 as it can encode in LtRt with a limiter and a gain for LR LSRS C and LFE.

It is also possible to encode and decode a Dolby Surround format in pro tools thanks to plug-in TDM format developed by Dolby, Dolby Surround Tools. It encodes a LtRt from a Dolby Surround LCRS format and decode in Prologic 1.

In the family of plug-ins to encode in pro tools we have the SoundCode audio Neyrinck. The SoundCode Dolby Digital can encode and decode Dolby Digital.
We must educate metadata (dialog level, downmix, DRC ...) measured at present our DP570. The plug-in provides the same settings for the CRD Line Mode and RF Mode strangely. The decoder can decode Dolby Digital stream .wav exported directly into the Timeline Pro Tools RTAS, you just have to import our stereo file to a stereo track and put the plug-in insert. This method can also be used to decode a Dolby Digital stream from a DVD player. In the window of the decoder, we can simulate the stereo and mono downmix however the DRC modes do not seem completely controlled. We have not been able to listen without DRC (?). This remains a very good tool to encode Dolby Digital. The tool is also for DTS, DTS SoundCode his name.

There are also stand-alone applications in audio Minnetonka, Surcode, which allow you to encode Dolby Digital, Dolby Surround, and DTS for audio and qu'encoder DVD (Disc Welder).

Another tool, the SoundCode for Broadcast is also very useful, developed by audio Neyrinck. It helps prepare the encoding Dolby E or Dolby Digital for the DP600 as files. We inform our metadata for both programs and LtRt and 5.1 can export all audio and Dolby metadata in a file .wav compatible with the DP600. The SoundCode player allows us to import our Dolby E file from the DP600 and integrate pro tools.

cf Neyrinck

Another very interesting feature of SoundCode for Broadcast is the ability to export and import in pro tools of RF64 files. We can export multichannel interleaved files 6 tracks for now much larger than 2 GB for long-term programs.

cf Neyrinck

Dolby has developed the software version of the LM100, Dolby Media Meter. This measurement software is available as a standalone application for Mac / PC or to Pro Tools RTAS / AudioSuite or Minnetonka AudioTools AWE. This plug-in allows us to measure the loudness with Dialogue Intelligence technology to automatically detect passages with dialogues. The measurement can be made on the Dolby Digital audio formats, Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby True HD, Dolby E, and PCM.

We have to wait for the Dolby E encoder with audio Minnetonka (before the end of the year?) With the equivalent in soft DP570 to simulate the metadata in pro tools, we can always dream!

The documents in this article are from: Dolby Laboratories, Neyrinck, Minnetonka Audio, TC electronic, Digidesign.

Tests on the upmix processor Isostem

Isostem is a broadcast upmix processor for HDTV channels it is based on a sound principle with a downmix "ISO" equal to the stereo. Its builder, Antoine Hurtado, has developed a technology upmix based on the analysis of acoustic energy exchanges at the listening position that has recently been published AES. We tested the machine on a week by passing different stereo mix, music, sports, pub ...

The hardware unit has 8 inputs and 8 digital outputs AES Sub 25 and is operated using a Windows compatible software. The sound quality is impeccable and the spatialization parameters far exceed the Dolby Surround decoding technology.

Indeed, the essential and the starting point of the adjustment is based on this small window, panoramic PA analyzer, which analyzes the width or real-time de-correlation of the original stereo and allows to isolate somehow the source of its environment.

The work on the parameters of the panoramic analyzer allows us to isolate the highly correlated information and extract multichannel LR ghost to create a center. We proceed in the same way for surround channel information to the management level channel extraction channels L and C, R. This setting is dependent on the depth of the pan law and the opening angle of the stereo. The optimization of the adjustment can be made by monitoring the different analyzer parts through the solo and mute.

Then we have the virtual microphone unit VM, a kind of simulation of a multi-channel sound recording system, which allows decorrelating the sound image through integration periods and directional microphones, the approach is interesting, it adjusts the spatial decorrelation but delays can induce some comb filtering problems.

ISO Module allows us to optimize the upmix so that the downmix is ​​identical to the original stereo, reintegrating the intermix the difference between stereo and downmix.

The output module integrates monitoring functions (the various channels of multi-channel, original stereo, downmix Dolby with the same coefficients and intermix) with different ISO options (optimization of downmix) HCF (mitigation Acute rear), SUB (SUB creation by bass management), PHA (phase correction).

Apart from quality upmix the Isostem also manages several independent stereo streams that can receive different stems (music, moods, VO, VI ...) up to 4 stereo inputs which optimizes the sound reproduction the upmix based on different versions available or stems of a program.

A page containing all the adjustment parameters is integrated into the application.

In summary, this process already used for some HD channels in France, including France 2 HD, and HD NRJ12 offers an intelligent and promising solution for broadcasting stereo 5.1 programs. HDTV is needed because the chains are not always broadcast HD 5.1 100% native programs, it will broadcast programs 5.1 from preexisting content to stereo, and stereo stems if the spatial program of interest.

More: Isostem

Specifications for DTT HD, Dolby Digital + / HE-AAC

The HD Forum has published the specifications for HD DTT. It is a reference document for the distribution and reception of channels TF1 HD, France 2 HD and M6 HD. Remember that these three channels will be the first to be broadcast on TNT in 2008. There is a reminder in this document standards and interesting recommendations regarding multi-channel sound.

Note for the treatment of his (HD Forum citation):

For their HD channel, publishers are planning to broadcast several audio components (VF, VO, audio description) associated with the video stream. These audio can be mono, stereo or multi-channel at their convenience. Similarly, according to the program, the type of audio can vary between mono, stereo and multichannel. Note that for streams multichannel Dolby Digital + support and the HE-AAC is required, which leads to the receivers can perform downmixing of both codecs for stereo outputs.

Transcoding a HE-AAC multichannel component to Dolby Digital or DTS will be mandatory from 31 December 2009.

Note also the integration of metadata provided in the HE-AAC streams.

Read more

HD Forum

LM5, plug-in Pro Tools HD measuring Loudness

TC electronic has released a plug-in for Pro Tools HD to measure the loudness of a 5.1 program useful in the context of multi-channel broadcast in HDTV, for example. This measure takes into account the new standard ITU dialog level Leq (RLB) incorporating a more accurate weighting the Leq (A). The plug-in allows you to track the history of loudness values ​​thus it measures the MPC values ​​programs with different presets. A test!

Read more:
www.tcelectronic.com/LoudnessRadarMeters  

lm5_1.png

lm5_ppm.png

Archives pour la catégorie son TVHD

La Freebox supporte le DTS Neural

Suite à l’annonce du partenariat en Avril 2012 avec DTS, Free annonce la prise en charge du DTS Neural Surround, un procédé qui permet de profiter d’un son 5.1 qui est transporté au sein d’un flux stéréo matricé LtRt et qui doit être spécifiquement traité en amont et à la diffusion : « pour un débit équivalent, les chaînes et portails de VOD pourront désormais proposer du son en HD 5.1 ». Notez que la Freebox n’est pas la première à inclure cette technologie puisque la Bbox Sensation de Bouygues Telecom propose déjà cela depuis septembre 2013. Quels contenus sont concernés ? A priori, sur Freebox, le DTS Neural sera mis à contribution exclusivement pour la VOD. 

freenews

La recommandation R128

Après un long travail au sein du groupe Ploud de l’EBU qui réunit les différents acteurs du Broadcast en Europe, la recommandation R128 est finalisée, en ligne ici, sur le site de l’EBU. A lire aussi l’excellent document pédagogique « On the way to loudness nirvana » de Florian Camerer ici.

Pour résumer voici les principales lignes

Pour caractériser le signal audio, on utilise les paramètres suivants :

- mesure du loudness du programme (programme loudness)

- l’excursion du loudness (loudness range, LRA)

- niveau crête du signal (maximum true peak level)

Il existe 3 types de mesures :

- la mesure instantanée (momentary loudness) : fenêtre glissante de 400 ms

- la mesure short term : fenêtre glissante de 3 s

- la mesure infinie (integrated loudness) : sur toute la durée du programme

La valeur de la mesure du loudness du programme est normalisée à  -23 LUFS  +- 1 LU

L’échelle LUFS est équivalente à l’échelle LKFS (courbe de pondération K ou R2LB) avec la correspondance suivante

0 LU = -23 LUFS

Deux échelles sont retenues pour le metering :

- EBU +9 scale, l’échelle par défaut, allant de -18 LU jusqu’à +9 LU (-41 LUFS, – 14 LUFS)

- EBU +18 scale, allant de -36 LU jusqu’à + 18 LU (-59 LUFS, -5 LUFS)

Le signal audio doit être mesuré dans son intégralité, sans considérer des éléments spécifiques tels que les dialogues

La mesure doit intégrer l’utilisation du gate, dont le seuil relatif est de 10 LU au-dessous de la valeur du loudness, obtenue par mesure instantannée (400 ms). A noter aussi la présence d’un gate pour les silences, dont le seuil est fixé à -70 LUFS.

Le loudness range (LRA), traduit l’excursion du loudness au cours du programme, l’algorithme de mesure retenu fontionne sur la distribution statistique des valeurs entre 5% et 95%, excluant ainsi les valeurs extrêmes. Le LRA n’a pas de valeur imposée dans la norme R128, il est juste recommandé de ne pas dépasser 20 LU pour la diffusion broadcast de programmes avec grande dynamique (le film, la musique classique).

Vers une nouvelle normalisation loudness EBU/UER

P:LOUD

Le groupe EBU/UER Loudness P/LOUD, orchestré par Florian Camerer, travaille depuis un certain temps sur de nouvelles normes de mesure de loudness. Le salon de l’IBC a été l’occasion de nouvelles discussions sur ces normes. En bref, voila ce que l’on peut retenir de ces premières recommandations :

normalisation des crêtes MAX à -1 dBFS true peak

3 constantes de temps pour la mesure du loudness :

long term (infinite), utilisation d’une mesure avec gate afin ne pas prendre en compte les passages bas niveau

seuil du gate=7 LU en dessous du loudness mesuré ou valeur absolue (à préciser)

short term 10 ou 8s

momentary entre 100 et 500 ms

valeur target du loudness = – 23 LKFS +- 1 LU

prise en compte du LFE pour la mesure

En savoir plus : P/LOUD

Norme PAD TVHD CST-RT-019

Cette nouvelle norme, en cours de signature, vient compléter la recommandation CST – RT 017 afin de définir les méthodologies d’évaluation de la dynamique sonore.

- changement d’échelle de mesure de loudness : LKFS pondération courbe Leq (R2LB)

pondération ITU-R BS.1770-1

- valeur moyenne du niveau des dialogues -25 LKFS  +- 2 dB

image-1

- méthodologie de mesure de la dynamique

on autorise les excursions du loudness suivantes :

pour les dialogues :  +- 7 dB mesuré en short term autour du Dialog level

pour l’ensemble des éléments sonores du programme : +- 12 dB mesuré en short term autour du Dialog level

gestion des crêtes du mixage 5.1 à -3 dB FS (à terme généralisé à toutes les déclinaisons de mixage, 5.1, LtRt, LoRo, Dual mono)

image-2

informations et schémas issus de la recommandation technique CST-RT-019-TV-2009-V1

En savoir plus :  CST

Soundcode Dolby E Neyrinck

scb_encoder_ptplugin

cf Neyrinck audio

 

Neyrinck Audio vient de mettre à disposition son application Soundcode pour l’encodage Dolby E. Cette outil, développé pour pro tools et sous forme d’application autonome, est une sorte de mise à jour du Soundcode for Broadcast sorti l’année dernière. Il permet d’encoder et de décoder un fichier Dolby E ainsi qu’il permet d’exporter  un fichier MBWF (fichiers transportant 8 canaux audio , format 5.1 + 2) pcm entrelacé intégrant les metadata pour le Dolby DP600 utilisé pour l’encodage Dolby E, Dolby Digital, Dolby Surround ainsi que pour l’analyse et la correction de loudness. A noter la possibilité d’importer et d’exporter dans pro tools des fichiers MBWF entrelacés pour le 5.1 dont la taille est supérieure à 4 Go (RIFF64).

A tester, en savoir plus Neyrinck audio

 

scb_monitor_rtas

cf Neyrinck Audio

Surcode Dolby E encodeur Minnetonka

encoder-dolby-e

Minnetonka vient de sortir le fameux encodeur Dolby E tant attendu. Jusqu’alors, nous pouvions décoder un format Dolby E dans pro tools ou en VST ou sous forme d’application autonome…Aujourd’hui nous pouvons encoder. L’utilisation est très simple, il suffit de fournir les metadata à l’application qui va fabriquer un fichier .wav Dolby E, ces metadata étant obtenues pour l’instant grâce au DP570 (en attendant qu’une version Dolby plug-in sorte…). Nous avons pu tester en audiosuite l’encodage dans pro tools, puis le décodage sans aucun problème. Finalement, il nous manque que la simulation des DRC pour renseigner ces metadata car, nous avons Dolby Media Meter et le LM5D pour la mesure du loudness, et  Surcode Pro Logic 2 Minnetonka qui simule le format LtRt. Surcode tourne en audiosuite, en RTAS pour pro tools, en VST et sous forme d’application autonome avec AudioTools AWE.

Les différents programmes du Dolby E sont supportés incluant le 5.1 + 2, une option Metadata import permet d’importer des metadata issues d’un fichier XML ou d’un fichier .wav contenant le DBMD chunk.

synoptique-surcode

cf Minnetonka Audio

Reste à synchroniser le fichier .wav Dolby E avec le flux vidéo HD en respectant les normes Dolby (bon positionnement des data Dolby E sur l’échantillon 37 et bon positionnement du fichier .wav Dolby E dans le système de reproduction pour la sortie SDI), un point qui reste délicat.

En savoir plus : Minnetonka Audio  LtRt

Le point sur les outils d’encodage 5.1 et la mesure du loudness dans pro tools

Pro tools reste un des logiciels les mieux adaptés à la production multicanal en offrant de nombreuses possibilités de traitement 5.1 sous forme de plug-ins développés par de nombreux constructeurs (TC electronic, Dolby laboratories, Minnetonka audio, Neyrinck, Soundfield, Waves…)

Parmis ces outils qui s’insèrent de façon ludique dans notre console de mixage 5.1, le LM5D TC electronic est l’incontournable à mettre en insert dans notre master 5.1. Il nous donne l’historique du loudness (LeqRLB), sa valeur instantannée ainsi que la valeur moyenne (« center of gravity ») sur la durée du programme (pas de fenêtre glissante sur 10 secondes, procédé de mesure « short term » utilisé par le DP570). Nous avons aussi accès à une sorte d’écart type, « consistency », qui nous donne l’information sur la variation du loudness sur la durée du programme : avons nous un loudness très constant ou bien très variable? La mesure du niveau ppm est précise et complète ce qui nous manque dans pro tools, une mesure précise des niveaux. Le LM5D diffère du LM5 que par ces informations statistiques. Pour une mesure du canal central portant les dialogues, il suffit de couper les autres bus issus de notre master 5.1. Le LM5D a été présenté récemment à l’IBC, et est disponible depuis peu en téléchargement sur le site du constructeur.

 

 

Parmi les nouveaux plug-ins récemment développés, nous avons le surcode Dolby E de Minnetonka audio au format RTAS qui nous permet de décoder un flux Dolby E ; l’outil est aussi disponible sous forme d’application autonome Minnetonka AudioTools AWE. Nous avons pu le tester sur différents formats (5.1, LtRt) (2+2) (5.1). Cet outil nous donne les metadata renseignées sur les différents programmes. Il suffit d’insérer le plug-in dans une track au format 7.1 et router la piste vers un BUS 7.1 qui permettra de monitorer le 5.1 et le LtRt via des aux input aux formats respectivement 5.1 et stéréo.

 

 

Les limites du plug-in sont l’impossibilité d’exporter à l’heure actuelle les metadata vers le DP570 et l’impossibilité de décoder le flux Dolby E dans la timeline, nous sommes obligés de lui indiquer dans le browser le fichier Dolby E .wav entrelacé (la synchro se fait en début de session ou bien au TC si le TC est intégré dans le flux Dolby E). Une page settings fait apparaitre le port qui permettrait de transporter ces metadata en externe sur le DP570 mais qui pour l’instant n’est pas opérationnel. Nous pouvons intervertir l’ordre des bus, dans la page settings, pour travailler avec les différentes normes smpte, film…

 

 

 

 

Le LtRt issu du Dolby E peut lui même être décodé par un autre outil développé par Minnetonka audio, Surcode Dolby pro logic 2. Ce plug-in nous donne accès aux différents paramètres (mode movie ou music, panorama…) du décodeur pro logic 2 ainsi qu’il permet d’encoder en LtRt avec un limiteur et un gain pour LR C LSRS et LFE.

 

 

Il est aussi possible d’encoder et de décoder un format Dolby Surround dans pro tools grâce au plug-in au format TDM développé par Dolby, le Dolby Surround Tools. Il permet d’encoder un LtRt depuis un format Dolby Surround LCRS et de décoder en prologic 1.

 

 

Dans la famille des plug-ins pour encoder dans pro tools, nous avons les Soundcode de Neyrinck audio. Le soundcode Dolby Digital permet d’encoder et de décoder le Dolby Digital.
Nous devons renseigner les metadata (dialog level, downmix, DRC…) mesurées à l’heure actuelle par notre DP570. Le plug-in impose les mêmes réglages pour les DRC du Line Mode et du RF mode bizarrement. Le décodeur peut décoder le flux dolby digital exporté en .wav directement dans la timeline de pro tools en RTAS, il suffit pour cela d’importer notre fichier stéréo dans une piste stéréo et mettre le plug-in en insert. Cette méthode peut servir aussi à décoder un flux dolby digital issu d’un lecteur DVD. Dans la fenêtre du décodeur, nous pouvons simuler le downmix stéréo et mono en revanche les modes DRC ne semblent pas complètement maîtrisés. Nous n’avons pas pu écouter sans DRC (?). Cela reste un très bon outil pour encoder en Dolby Digital. L’outil existe d’ailleurs pour le DTS, il s’appelle Soundcode DTS.

 

 

 

Il existe aussi des applications autonomes chez Minnetonka audio, Surcode, qui permettent d’encoder en Dolby Digital, Dolby Surround, et DTS ainsi qu’encoder pour le DVD audio (Disc Welder).

 

 

Un autre outil, le Soundcode for Broadcast est aussi très utile, développé par Neyrinck audio. Il permet de préparer l’encodage Dolby E ou Dolby Digital pour le DP600 sous forme de fichiers. Nous renseignons nos metadata pour nos deux programmes 5.1 et LtRt et pouvons exporter le tout, audio et metadata Dolby sous forme de fichier .wav compatible avec le DP600. Le soundcode player nous permet d’importer notre fichier Dolby E issu du DP600 et de l’intégrer dans pro tools.

 

cf Neyrinck

 

 

Autre particularité très intéressante du soundcode for Broadcast, c’est la possibilité d’exporter et d’importer dans pro tools des fichiers RF64. Nous pouvons exporter ainsi des fichiers multicanal entrelacés 6 pistes pour l’instant de taille bien supérieure à 2 Go pour des programmes de longue durée.

 

cf Neyrinck

 

Dolby a développé la version soft du LM100, le Dolby media meter. Ce logiciel de mesure est disponible sous forme d’application autonome Mac/PC ou bien pour pro tools en RTAS/Audiosuite ou pour Minnetonka AudioTools AWE. Ce plug-in nous permet de mesurer le loudness avec la technologie Dialogue Intelligence qui permet de détecter automatiquement les passages avec les dialogues. La mesure peut se faire sur les formats audio Dolby Digital, Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby True HD, Dolby E et du PCM.

 

Il nous reste plus qu’à attendre l’encodeur Dolby E de chez Minnetonka audio (avant la fin d’année ?) avec l’équivalent du DP570 en soft pour simuler les metadata dans pro tools, on peut toujours rêver !

Les documents de cet article sont issus de : Dolby Laboratories, Neyrinck, Minnetonka Audio, TC electronic, Digidesign.

 

Tests sur le processeur d’upmix Isostem

Isostem est un processeur d’upmix de diffusion pour les chaînes TVHD, il repose sur un principe acoustique avec un downmix « ISO » égal à la stéréophonie. Son constructeur, Antoine Hurtado, a mis au point une technologie d’upmix fondée sur l’analyse des échanges d’énergie acoustique au point d’écoute qui a fait dernièrement l’objet d’une publication AES. Nous avons pu tester la machine sur une semaine, en faisant passer différents mix stéréo, musique, sport, pub…

L’unité hardware présente 8 entrées et 8 sorties numériques en AES Sub 25, et se commande à l’aide d’un logiciel compatible Windows. La qualité sonore est irréprochable et les paramètres de spatialisation dépassent de loin les technologies de décodage Dolby Surround.

En effet, l’essentiel et le point de départ du réglage repose sur cette petite fenêtre, l’analyseur panoramique PA, qui analyse la largeur ou la décorrélation en temps réel de la stéréo d’origine et qui permet d’isoler en quelque sorte la source de son environnement.

Le travail sur les paramètres de l’analyseur panoramique nous permet d’isoler l’information très corrélée et de l’extraire de l’image fantôme LR du multicanal pour en créer un centre. Nous procédons de la même façon pour l’information des canaux surround avec la gestion du niveau d’extraction du canal C et des canaux L, R. Ce réglage est dépendant de la profondeur de la loi panoramique et de l’angle d’ouverture de la stéréo. L’optimisation du réglage peut se faire en monitorant les différents éléments de l’analyseur grâce aux solos et aux mute.

Nous avons ensuite le module microphone virtuel VM, une sorte de simulation d’un système de prise de son multicanal, qui permet de décorréler l’image sonore grâce à l’intégration de délais et des directivités des microphones, l’approche est intéressante, elle permet d’ajuster la décorrélation spatiale mais les délais peuvent induire quelques problèmes de filtrage en peigne.

Le module ISO nous permet d’optimiser l’upmix de telle sorte que le downmix soit identique à la stéréo d’origine, en réintégrant l’intermix, la différence entre la stéréo et le downmix.

Le module de sortie intègre les fonctions de monitoring (les différents canaux du multicanal, la stéréo d’origine, le downmix avec les mêmes coefficients de Dolby et l’intermix) avec les différentes options ISO (optimisation du downmix), HCF (atténuation des aigus à l’arrière), SUB (création du SUB par bass management), PHA (correction de phase).

Mis à part la qualité d’upmix, l’Isostem gère aussi de façon indépendante plusieurs flux stéréo pouvant recevoir des stems différents (musique, ambiances, VO, VI…) jusqu’à 4 entrées stéréo ce qui permet d’optimiser le rendu sonore de l’upmix en fonction des différentes versions ou stems disponibles d’un programme.

Une page reprenant tous les paramètres de réglage est intégrée dans l’application.

En résumé, ce procédé, déjà utilisé pour certaines chaînes HD en France, notamment à France 2 HD, et à NRJ12 HD, propose une solution intelligente et prometteuse pour la diffusion de programmes stéréo en 5.1. La TVHD en a besoin car les chaînes ne vont pas toujours diffuser des programmes HD 5.1 100% natifs, elle diffuseront des programmes 5.1 à partir de contenus préexistants en stéréo et de stems stéréo si la spatialisation du programme présente un intérêt.

En savoir plus : Isostem

Encodeur et Décodeur Dolby E pour pro tools

Minnetonka Audio sort un plug-in pour pro tools capable de décoder un format Dolby E. Le plug-in permet d’intégrer plus facilement un flux multicanal Dolby E dans une station audionumérique pour la post-production et affiche les différentes metadata issues des deux flux 5.1 et stéréo/LtRt.

L’encodeur Dolby E devrait sortir plus tard cette année.

A tester !

 

Spécifications HD pour la TNT, Dolby Digital+ / HE-AAC

Le HD forum vient de publier les spécifications HD pour la TNT. C’est un document référence pour la diffusion et la réception des chaînes TF1 HD, France2 HD et M6 HD. Rappelons que ces 3 chaînes seront les premières à être diffusées sur la TNT en 2008. On trouve dans ce document un rappel des normes et des recommandations intéressantes en ce qui concerne le son multicanal.

On notera pour le traitement du son (citation HD Forum) :

Pour leur chaîne HD, les éditeurs prévoient de diffuser plusieurs composantes audio (VF, VO, Audio-description) associées au flux vidéo. Ces audio pourront être mono, stéréo ou multicanal à leur convenance. De même, en fonction des programmes, le type d’audio pourra varier entre  mono, stéréo et multicanal. On notera que pour les flux multicanaux le support de Dolby Digital+ et de l’ HE-AAC est demandé, ce qui induit pour les récepteurs de pouvoir effectuer le downmixing de ces deux codecs sur les sorties stéréo.

Le transcodage d’une composante HE-AAC multicanale vers Dolby Digital ou DTS ne sera obligatoire qu’à partir du 31 décembre 2009.

A noter aussi l’intégration des metadata prévue dans le flux HE-AAC.

En savoir plus

HD Forum

LM5, plug-in Pro tools HD de mesure de Loudness

TC electronic vient de sortir un plug-in pour pro tools HD qui permet de mesurer le Loudness d’un programme 5.1, utile dans le contexte de la diffusion multicanal en TVHD par exemple. Cette mesure prend en compte la nouvelle norme ITU de dialog level Leq (RLB) intégrant une pondération plus précise que le Leq(A). Le plug-in permet de suivre l’historique des valeurs de Loudness ainsi qu’il mesure les valeurs PPM des programmes avec des presets différents. A tester !

En savoir plus :  
www.tcelectronic.com/LoudnessRadarMeters    

lm5_1.png  

lm5_ppm.png

Plug-in pour Pro tools qui facilite l’encodage Dolby E

Neyrinck sort un plug-in qui facilite l’encodage Dolby E en proposant l’export en BWF des fichiers audio multicanal avec les metadata intégrées, à renseigner. Ces fichiers sont compatibles avec le DP600 qui peut encoder en Dolby E ou Dolby Digital/Dolby Digital plus. Une application autonome est aussi disponible. Une démo est téléchargeable sur leur site.

En savoir plus :

www.neyrinck.com 

soundcodede.png